Peace Palace

Design competition

216 architects submitted their design for the Peace Palace in an open, international competition. Some of the designs seemed modern, while others were very traditional.

A distinguished jury consisting of international architects and professors, chaired by Dutch architect Pierre Cuypers, eventually selected six designs. These were the winners of the architecture competition for the Peace Palace. Louis Marie Cordonnier, from Lille, received the first prize and became the architect of the Peace Palace.

The six prize-winning designs can be seen below. The New Institute in Rotterdam currently has the original architectural drawings on loan.

Please click on the pictures in the gallery to enlarge them.

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.